Song: “Matthias Job”

Earlier in this year, my nephew, Matthias Job, passed away shortly after birth. My wife and I wrote and recorded a song as a surprise for my sister-in-law and her husband. My wife’s parents and my brother-in-law and his wife helped with the lyrics and we also took some lines from my sister-in-law’s letter that she wrote to Matthias. We want to share it with you and hope it will bring comfort to others who have faced burdens and tragedies in their lives.

Lyrics:

As you felt your mother’s heart beat out her love for you,
And you heard your father’s whispered words of care,
Through a rain of tears we watched you slowly slip away,
And this path of pain seemed more than we could bear.

Yet I’ll trust in God, who heals and brings me peace.

Through it all God remains the same,
He’s still good and perfect and merciful,
And though he gives and He takes away,
Still I’ll choose to say blessed be His name.

Now we long to hold you, mourning memories never made,
And we hold to hope until that glorious day,
As we ache for Heaven, this Earth loses it’s appeal,
When we join you, sin’s curse in our hearts will heal.

In the afterward of Heaven.

Through it all God remains the same,
He’s still good and perfect and merciful,
And though he gives and He takes away,
Still I’ll choose to say blessed be His name.

You went far so we would draw near,
Pain is not wasted, God’s will is made clear;
Richer through losses, empty we are filled;
Joy in the morning, in the afterward of Heaven.

God healed your broken heart when He took you home,
And I have this hope, my God will carry me.

Through it all God remains the same,
He’s still good and perfect and merciful,
And though he gives and He takes away,
Still I’ll choose to say blessed be His name.

Leave a Reply

