Book Review: “One Way Love” by Tullian Tchividjian

41+kZGNJakL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_

I’ve never liked one-way streets in downtown areas. Whether it was my hometown of Baltimore, or more recently in Winston-Salem, knowing that there are one-way streets close by would stress me out. I guess I feared I would accidentally take an erroneous turn and meet one-way traffic head on. But really, when you are struck head-on by God’s grace, it is much more powerful. Not in a destructive sense, ironically, but actually in a sense of healing and restoration. Tullian Tchividjian’s new book One Way Love talks all about the indelible grace that God freely distributes. I listened to the audiobook Jesus + Nothing = Everything a couple of times and was tremendously blessed by his biblical counsel mainly from the book of Colossians. One Way Love takes more of a topical approach to applying biblical truth, and I would most definitely believe it would be a great idea to spend time thinking about God’s relentless grace as explained in the words of Tchividjian. 

Especially in the last year or so, I’ve really taken an interest to trying to understand the compatibility between Law and Grace. Much is mentioned about both in One Way Love but of course the latter is what drives his thesis, as it would be expected. What really struck me is in Tchividjian’s explanation on how the law is indeed offensive, but that grace is even more so. I’ve probably heard it explained by pastors and theologians several times before, but of all of the explanations I’ve heard before, nothing quite hit me as hard as this time. Tullian writes:

“The law offends us because it tells us what to do – and most of the time we hate anybody telling us what to do. But ironically, grace offends us even more, because it tells us there is nothing we can do – that everything already has been done. And if there’s something we hate more than being told what to do, it’s being told that we can’t do anything, that we can’t earn anything – that we are helpless, weak, and needy.” (pg. 47)

That’s offensive, but the wonderful news is…that it’s true. And that’s what you will constantly be exposed to in One Way Love: God’s offensive, extravagant, glorious grace.

 

I received this book for free from Net Galley, all opinions and comments were my own.

Leave a Reply

