When Monday Night Church Meets Dunkin’ Donuts

For the past few months I’ve had the great blessing and privilege to lead a Bible study with other Bible college young men. Usually, we would meet at my apartment for a couple hours, have a completely unhealthy snack, study a passage in Luke, spend some time in prayer, and finish up around 9 o’clock. It is always a joy to take part in these Monday night Bible study sessions. Yesterday was no different…except we met at Dunkin’ Donuts. Why do I call this “Monday Night Church?” Because those guys and I are the Church, we’re the body of Christ. We do not own a building, though for a while my apartment was the “meeting place” of the church. Now, I do have incredible Greek credentials (2 1/2 weeks of a semester)…or you can just research it, and find that the word for church is “ekklesia.” This is the people. No building. Jesus didn’t die for a building. Last night was a great blessing because I was not only able to enjoy studying Luke 4, but also I could see that believers are not bound to a building. While I and the two other guys I met with attend local churches every week, there are tremendous benefits from fellowshiping with other Christians at other times than just Sunday and Wednesday. Additionally, these opportunities give us chances to share the Gospel and be available to those around us. Next time you head out to grab a doughnut, why not get together with a few friends and study God’s Word?

Leave a Reply

